A Chocolatey Obsession

I love chocolate.  I always have and I always will!  There is a running joke in my family that I am a true product of my mom and grandma because we all have an intense love for all things cheese, bread and chocolate!  Similarly to Jenna I have to have something chocolate after every meal.  Usually after dinner it is in the form of ice cream, but after lunch it can be a variety of things!

It is no surprise either that I love the grocery store, especially when I walk down the candy isle and look to see what kinds of chocolate are on sale!  I was ecstatic this week when I saw Toblerone 10/$10.  I looove toblerone chocolate, but for some reason never knew that they had a dark chocolate version!  I recently developed a love for dark chocolate and am now convinced that I enjoy it even more than milk chocolate!  I have been nibbling on pieces of this dark chocolate Toblerone all day!  I can’t seem to stop!  Delicious!

Another weakness of mine are products that are new.  I love trying new things, so when I saw these Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Pieces, I knew I had to try them even though I already have a bag of dark chocolate m&m’s at home.  These look very similar to the dark chocolate m&m’s, but they definitely have a diferent taste.  I highly recommend trying them!

Now, who can have the holidays without some dark chocolate peppermint bark from William-Sonoma?  Not me, of course!  Now, I am not a huge fan of candy canes, in fact I don’t even like them, so you can imagine my hesitation when it came to trying this a couple years ago.  Well, now I am hooked.  I absolutely love this stuff, and even though it is $20 a tin, I cannot pass it up!  It is an absolute favorite of mine.  I contemplated making it from scratch this year, and even bought all the ingredients, but when it came down to it I knew that the quality just wouldn’t compare to the William Sonoma brand.  I can’t wait to indulge in this for months, since I am one of the only ones in my family that eats it, and we now have roughly about 6 boxes.  Yes, 6. 🙂

This brings me to another topic.  Today at the mall I saw a sign outside of Aunt Annes Pretzel Shop.  For those of you who aren’t familiar, this is a chain soft pretzel shop that has been around for as long as I can remember.  Now, their pretzels are good, but definitely full of artificial ingredients and not very healthy by any standards.  Don’t get me wrong, if you like them then they are definitely a delicious treat every once in awhile, but for me they aren’t worth it.  Anyways, there was a sign outside of their shop at the mall today that said “get 2 and pretend 1 is for Santa.” Now, I know times are tough, but that sign definitely rubbed me the wrong way.  No wonder America is fat!  Does this bother anyone else or is it just me trying to be Jillian Michaels?

Oh, and I also saw a guy walking around with toilet paper sticking out of the back of his pants, but that’s a different story. 🙂

10 Responses to A Chocolatey Obsession

  1. Melissa S. says:

    omg we bought the york bites they made and they’re so gooooodddd! totally a chocolate lover w/ ya!

  2. greensandjeans says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I actually had the same reaction as you to that Auntie Annie’s sign! Do we need to give a reason for people to “cheat” when they are already “being bad?” I’m all about treats, but I don’t know if we need to give people permission to go overboard? Call me crazy…

  3. strawberrysuitcase says:

    williams sonoma peppermint bark is crazy deliciouss!!

  4. Tricia says:

    Somehow I managed to live 26 years without trying a Toblerone. How?

  5. Danielle says:

    Hahah poor guy with the toilet paper. And I’ve also found a new appreciation for dark chocolate. Ughh don’t get me started on the signs for fast food places- you’re def not just being a Jillian Michaels 🙂

  6. jenna says:

    chocolate yummm!
    You should defs try to make your own home made bark, it is super cheap quick and easy!!
    Jenna

  7. Chocolate is a gift to this world!! I cannot go a day without it. I munched through 2 bags of chocolate chips since coming home less than two weeks ago 🙂 I love peppermint bark too–just made some pretzel peppermint bark tonight!

  8. Hillary says:

    I too have to have chocolate after every meal (lunch & dinner) – bad habit. I’ve ever had Toblerone though…

    ~ Hillary @ http://www.nutritionnut.wordpress.com

  9. Lindsey says:

    Toblerone!! When I spent a term abroad in England I ate more Toblerone than anything else I think. It was all over the place and pretty cheap. Sooo good.

    I am a total chocolate freak as well, but for some reason I don’t like dark chocolate – the best kind for you. Figures.

    I really dislike those pretzels and hate how they make the mall smell. It makes me sick. Weird I know.

    Happy Holidays!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

