How many women does it take to….

make a funfetti cake?!  Keep reading to find out!

First let me back up to yesterday evening.  My dad was outside snowblowing the entire driveway (we live on a large hill) by himself.  I felt bad and felt like I could contribute slightly by shoveling a path in the back for the dogs, and shoveling off the front porch.  My mom caught me in action.  *Don’t mind my mismatching clothing, I threw on what I could find to stay warm.*

Beautiful area in my front yard:

I was excited to get back into a routine today.  I ate my breakfast and set out to the gym.  I ran 4.5 miles at an incline of 2.0.  If felt great to break a good sweat!

Today is my lttle brothers 22nd birthday.  The cake he requested:  Funfetti.  Haha, I just laugh at this because I am a total chocolate cake and chocolate frosting kind of girl.  Also, my mom is an awesome homemade cake baker, so the fact that he wanted a boxed cake is funny.   Late this afternoon, my mom, my brothers girlfriend Brittany, and I set out to make him a darn good funfetti cake.  Yes, it takes 3 women to make a boxed cake. 🙂

Ingredients:

Brittany:

Check out my mom’s new bling ;):

The aussies wanted to make sure we didn’t drop anything:

Me putting the cakes in the oven:

While the cakes were in the oven, we set out to make some dinner.  On the menu:  whole wheat penne pasta, authentic Italian olive oil, pesto, fresh parsley, parmesean cheese and broccoli:

The olive oil brought back from Italy:

Pesto:

All together:

Yum!  I definitely had seconds.  My brother and his girlfriend are currently at the movies seeing Avatar, but while they were gone I frosted the cake.  When they get back, we will cut it!

We didn’t go out to dinner tonight for Tom’s birthday because my dad is out of town.  I am excited to go out to dinner tomorrow, though.  I am still not sure where we are going, but I know it will be delicious!  Stay tuned!

What is your ideal birthday cake?

15 Responses to How many women does it take to….

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    DEFINITELY a fun cake!! That’d be ideal 😀

  2. Cookie cake! I love, love, love cookie cake.

    My boyfriend is obsessed with funfetti though.

  3. Sarah says:

    I love funfetti cake!!! I find it to be the best of both worlds.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 We east coast girls need to stick together.

  4. Heather says:

    I haven’t had funfetti cake in years!

    My favorite cake – probably a yellow cake with chocolate frosting. Simple but delicious!

  5. Danielle says:

    I’m just like you- chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. I’ve heard some people say “too much chocolate” and I just can’t comprehend that 🙂

  6. OMG FUNFETTI IS THEBESTTTTT it is so moist and delicious! wow, i want a big slice now and its only 8:20 am-I think tahts normal right? 😉

    my ideal cake is the oreo/vanilla froyo cake from a place in boston called JP licks! OMG its amazinggg it has layers of cookie and fudge and crumblered oreos on toP!!

  7. Kristine says:

    Wow Naomi!! That sounds perfect! My birthday is coming up, too, so I might have to request that cake! 🙂

  8. Caroline says:

    What a cute little cake! I love it. My favorite kind of birthday cake is definitely white or yellow with white frosting. I am not a huge chocolate lover but will of course eat anything! My Mom makes me (from scratch) a white cake with raspberry filling and lemon icing which is to die for! Beautiful looking snow out there in the ‘burbs too!

  9. Christina says:

    I think everyone likes Funfetti no matter who it is..maybe its the sprinkles..sprinkles make everyone happy haha

  10. dailygoods says:

    absolutely nothing better than funfetti cake! 🙂

  11. whydeprive says:

    Im ALL about Dairy Queen ice cream cakes. Theyre SO delicious!!

  12. Lindsey says:

    Hey – thanks for stopping by my blog. Yours looks great – I’m looking forward to reading more. You may have covered this before, but how did you develop frostbite?

  13. strawberrysuitcase says:

    for some reason i always bake funfetti cakes with the white frosting but the pink makes it much more festive looking. love it!

Leave a Reply

