Sweet Potato Pizza – The Best Creation

I had pizza last night.  Again.  I find this really funny because I hardly ever go out to dinner and hardly ever eat pizza, but the past two nights i’ve done both!  I love it!

Last night, my parents and I went to a new restaurant that just opened up called Tavolino.  We were surprised that they took reservations for three for a Friday night.  As soon as we walked in, we were warmly welcomed and the restaurant had an excellent ambiance.

We were promptly seated in a nice round booth.  We felt like we were in our own little private section.  We were instantly welcomed by our waitress who took our drink order, and my parents ordered a bottle of wine.  My dad is a total wine guy and was very impressed with their wine menu.  They even offer a to-go wine service if you don’t finish the bottle, which they didn’t.  I stuck with water. 🙂

Next, we were given the most delicious bread basket I have seen in a long time, with a garlic based olive oil with parmesean cheese and red pepper flakes.

I had a nibble of each:

They were all delicious.  The one in the back was some sort of molasses bread with figs in it.  The best bread i’ve had in awhile!

Next up, pizza.  Honestly, hands down one of the best pizzas i’ve had in awhile.  My family and I decided to order two pizzas so we could bring some home to my brother and have leftovers.  My mom ordered the beet salad with warm goat cheese, orange supremes, rosemary dressing and toasted walnuts.

How delicious does that look?  Yum!  I went with the sweet potato pizza and it did not disappoint in the slightest.  All their pizza is made on a very thin crust and this one had a pinenut spread, roasted sweet potato, gorgonzola, arugula, pancetta and aged balsamic drizzle.  I also got broccoli added on top. Oh my gosh, words cannot express how delicious this was.

I had two delicious slices and I can’t wait to have leftovers for dinner tonight.

My dad ordered the pesto pizza, which I also had a bite of and it was delicious as well (not as good as the sweet potato though).  The pesto pizza was a white pizza with fresh basil pesto, fresh mozzarella and fire roasted red pepper strips.

Overall it was a great night.  My parents were totally embarrassed by me photographing the food, but they secretly loved it.  I had a great night, and can’t wait to return.  I am also excited that they have a to-go pizza service.  You will definitely be seeing this again in the near future!

What’s the most creative pizza you’ve ever had?

11 Responses to Sweet Potato Pizza – The Best Creation

  1. Caroline says:

    YUMMM! That place looks so amazing. I have a serious love for beet salad and sweet potato pizza so this post got me really excited! Looks like a fun night out with your fam.

  2. That pizza does look amazing!

    That’s funny about your parents! I have yet to take pics at a restaurant, but my family does get irritated when I take constant pictures during the cooking process!

  3. I don’t usually crave pizza but the look of that is making me weak in the knees!!!! Holy bread basket too….wow!

  4. The gooey cheese on that pizza looks amazing. I want it!

  5. Meg C. says:

    hi kristine! found your blog from twitter – those pizzas look amazing!
    I hung out with caroline last night and we agreed we all have to get together sometime in january when you’re home, maybe my sister will join us. glad you started a blog, i’ll definitely add it to my list.

  6. strawberrysuitcase says:

    sweet potato pizza? omigosh i have got to make some of that. and thin crust too–perfect combo!

  7. fantastic looking dinner!!! yummmmmmmmmm

  8. maria says:

    That bread looks SERIOUSLY delicious.

    And regarding your comment on my blog. I am pretty much down for ice cream any time of day…

  9. look AMAZING the one thing I woul change is the pinenut spread…I am NOT a fan of pine nuts I thin it is the only nut I really can’t stomach! (wierd I know!)

    I love pesto pizza wiht veggies and goat cheese MMMMM

  10. Kelly says:

    Wow, that restaurant looks amazing- especially the bread and the sweet potato pizza!

Leave a Reply

