Race Recap

Happy Friday Everyone!

I can’t believe how close it is getting to Christmas.  I have most of my shopping finished thanks to online shopping!  I don’t know what I would have done without it this year.  Being a student makes it difficult to get out there and shop when you are stressed out with finals.  Thank you internet!

This morning I had an INCREDIBLE work out.  Well, the workout wasn’t that great, but the gym was.  I called around to local gyms this morning to see if any of them were holding a discount rate for college students during winter break.  The lowest rate  I found was shockingly at the nicest gym around!  The Boston Sports Club is having a rate for $40.00 for a month for college students.  Still not cheap, but better than Gold’s!    I was SO impressed with this gym.  I walked in (up 3 flights of stairs) and was pleasantly surprised with how clean and gorgeous everything was.  All the equipment is brand new and has a TV on every single machine.  There were tons of bikes, stairmasters, treadmills, ellipticals, arc trainers and more!  There is also a gorgeous area where they offer classes and a separate room for Spin clasess.  I am DEFINITELY going to take advantage of these classes over break.  There is also a basketball court AND swimming pool.  I am so excited.  My younger brother is also getting a pass for break, and I am trying to convince my parents to join so my mom can take classes with me! 

What is your gym like? My gym at school is boring.  There are lots of treadmills and ellipticals, but no TV’s on the machines and no classes!  It is only $10.00 a month, though!

I wanted to give you guys a recap of a race I ran on Thanksgiving Day.  This is my second year running in the Whitinsville 5 Mile Thanksgiving Day Run. I really enjoy it and it is definitely a Thanksgiving Day tradition. I ran it this year with my friend Erika.  My dad really wanted to run with us like he did last year, but unfortunately could not run this year.  He was the photographer though.

Last year we ran it in a little over 45 minutes, so my dad was hardly expecting us when we came through the finish line at 41 minutes and 30ish seconds.  He sadly didn’t get a picture of me running through the finish line, but he did get a picture of me walking at the end as they took down our numbers.  We don’t have shoe chips for this race, so it is rather unofficial.  It’s a great race though, and a lot of people run it!  I always feel like everyone that runs it is so intense!

I’m not really a racer.  I run for me and because I enjoy it.  I am kind of intimidated by races, to tell you the truth.  When I ran winter track in high school, I hardly ever ran in the meets because I didn’t feel like I was good enough.  This race however, gave me so much confidence.  When I crossed the line at 41:30 (unofficial) I felt so proud!  I knew my pace was under 8:30.  It really gave me a ton of confidence and I am so excited to hopefully run in more races this year!

And here is Erika and I all sweaty after the race:

Have a great day!

4 Responses to Race Recap

  1. Stacey says:

    Yay for your new blog! My gym is only $10 a month, it used to be Gold’s Gym but Planet Fitness bought it out. I guess it’s okay, I just wish they held classes!

    I don’t consider myself a “racer” either, but I have to admit when I get out there with all the other runners there is a smidgen of me that really wants to win 🙂

  2. lowandbhold says:

    That gym sounds awesome! I love gyms with TVs on the cardio machines! Makes me want to go that much more 🙂 I just moved so I’m in between gyms right now, but I’ve been scouting some out.

  3. Caroline says:

    Fun race recap! I love the idea of running a race on Thanksgiving Day since it’s such a food laden day why not incorporate some good exercise? We will definitely get together after I get back from my vacay in Maine! Can’t wait.

  4. Melissa S. says:

    great race recap! i ran a 10k on thanksgiving with my brothers; i’ve been doing it for a few years and it’s so much fun!!!

Leave a Reply

