Dark Chocolate M n M Oatmeal Cookie Bars

I just made delicious dark chocolate M&M Oatmeal Cookie Bars that I can’t wait to share with you.  I love dark chocolate M&M’s so this recipe is perfect.  They are currently in the oven, and I can’t wait to try them!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/3 cup canola oil

1 tablespoon maple syrup

2 cups oats (Quick cooking or regular)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

3/4 cup dark chocolate m&m’s

1 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, beat sugar, applesauce, canola oil, and maple syrup, and vanilla until well blended.
  3. In a small bowl, combine oats, flour, baking soda, and sea salt.
  4. Gradually add dry oat mix to applesauce mixture and blend well. (Batter will be thick). Stir in m&m’s.
  5. Coat 13-inch by 9-inch baking pan with nonstick cooking spray (I used a round stone that I didn’t spray). Spread batter into coated pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until edges start to turn brown and pull away from the sides of the pan.
  6. Cool completely on a wire rack. Once cooled, cut into bars and remove with a spatula. Makes 24 bars.
  7. Bars can be kept in airtight container up to 3 days or can be frozen.
The mixture:
About to add in the m&m’s:
m&m’s — yumm:
M&M’s all mixed together:
The stone I used to make the bars:
Pre-oven:

The final product:
Yum!! Enjoy!
6 Responses to Dark Chocolate M n M Oatmeal Cookie Bars

  1. kbwood says:

    WOW that looks awesome girl!! thanks so much for the comment on my blog !

  2. Chelsea Ward says:

    Those look both festive and delicious. They’re also pretty healthy considering what a sweet treat they are! I bet they make for good pre-running fuel.

  3. these look awesome! thanks so much for sharing!

    ~new to your blog and I LOVE IT!

  4. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce says:

    Hey, thanks for your comment on my blog! WHOA that is so cool that you’re in school for audiology…how much longer do you have to go? What made you interested in it? I’ll definitely hit you up if any Meniere’s questions pop into my head between Dr’s visits ;). To answer your question: Yup i’ve had my hearing tested…it’s between mild to moderate hearing loss, but closer to the moderate side. Boo. Apparently it will fluctuate, but inevitably fluctuate downward. And ya it’s episodic, OMG how horrible would life be if you felt like you were on a tilt-o-whirl 24 hours a day!! I’m lucky!

    But enough about me! Love your blog already, how can I get in on those M&M bars? Yum! Crazy story about your toes btw, you’re a trooper!

  5. Melissa S. says:

    thanks for commenting and visiting my blog!!! yours looks great and i love it! i can’t wait to learn more and read the blog!

    that cookie looks great too..might steal it for my cookie baskets i’m making this weekend!

  6. Mary says:

    Hi Kristine, Your Blog looks great !

Leave a Reply

